CHESSANYTIME

Krush the Blitz princess of Moscow

The Women's World Blitz Championship Semi-final was dominated by Irina Krush of the USA. She demonstrated her form by finishing 1.5 points clear of the second placed Russian Vera Nebolsina.
The sixteen player final will follow on the 17th and 18th of September and can be followed live, see below for details.
See the video with Irina Krush.

The rate of play is 3 minutes (plus an incremental 2 seconds) each per game. The 34-player Semi-Final (over the 15th and 16th of September) was a decider for which six players would join the ten pre-designated finalists.

Here is a video courtesy of Europe Echecs.

Those in the six qualifying spots after the thirteen double rounds (which means a game with each colour against the same opponent) of the Semi-Final were the following:

StandingTitleNameCountryRatingPoints/26
1 IM Irina Krush USA 2490 19
2 WGM Vera Nebolsina RUS 2360 17.5
3 GM Natalia Zhukova UKR 2499 16.5
4IMIrina GaponenkoUKR246915.5
5 IMAlmira Skripchenko FRA 2464 15.5
6 IM Mariya Muzychuk UKR 2464 15

The two women who just missed out on tie-break:

StandingTitleNameCountryRatingPoints/26
7GM Zhu Chen QAT 2480 15
8WGMDeysi Cori TPER236815

Very close, especially for Zhu Chen who was in sixth place after the first day.

The Semi-Finals surveyed by Gaprindashvili.

Those who didn't have to go through the lottery of the competitive Semi-Finals were the World champion, the top six Elo ratings from the 1st of May, the winner of the Moscow Women's tournament from 2010 and a couple of wildcards, one from the organizer and one from the FIDE president.

So here are the players who will be featuring in the final:

1GM Alexandra Kosteniuk RUS 2524
2GM Humpy Koneru IND 2593
3GM Antoaneta Stefanova BUL 2551
4GM Nadezhda Kosintseva RUS 2565
5GM Tatiana Kosintseva RUS 2573
6IM Anna Muzychuk SLO 2535
7IM Irina Krush (Q) USA 2490
8WGM Vera Nebolsina (Q) RUS 2360
9GM Natalia Zhukova (Q) UKR 2499
10IMIrina Gaponenko (Q)UKR2469
11IMAlmira Skripchenko (Q) FRA 2464
12IM Mariya Muzychuk (Q) UKR 2464
13WGMNazi PaikidzeGEO 2376
14WGMValentina Gunina RUS 2465
15GMKateryna Lahno UKR 2539
16GMMarie SebagFRA 2499

The final will be a double-round affair with 15 games being played each day starting at 15.00 (local time).

The prizes are quite tempting, which explains why just about all the world elite are present with the exception of Judit Polgar who doesn't participate in Women's events, and Hou Yifan.

In total there are 50 000 € prizes allocated for the final plus a useful 10 000 € for the Semi-Final.

The Semi-Final prizes were as follows:

PlacePrize
1st1 000 €
2nd900 €
3rd 800 €
4th 700 €
5th 600 €
6th 500 €
7th-21st 300 €
22nd-25th 250 €

The Final:

PlacePrize
1st 10 000 €
2nd 8 000 €
3rd 6 000 €
4th 5 000 €
5th 4 500 €
6th 4 000 €
7th 3 500 €
8th 2 500 €
9th 1 500 €
10th-12th 1 000 €
13th-16th places 500 €

For more information go to the Official site

You can also follow the games live: Official site

All the action in the final will start at 3pm (Moscow time) which means 12 noon in London or 1pm in Paris. For our American friends the games start at 7am in New York or 4am in Los Angeles. I know you Yankees like Blitz, but how keen are you really?


Published on , Updated on