CHESSANYTIME

Another draw

Ready for combat
In the third game of the Candidates Final in Kazan, Alexander Grischuk was surprised by his opponent's reaction and offered an early draw. After two rough rides an easy draw suited Boris Gelfand fine, as he has two White's coming up from the final three games.

Alexander Grischuk's habit of offering early draws with White is annoying for the spectators, but a sign that he is frequently unhappy with the positions that he is obtaining.

After a couple of draws, the match is still level, but so far Boris Gelfand has struggled to keep himself in business.

Name World rank Country Elo 1 2 3 4 5 6 Score so far
Alexander Grischuk 12 AZE 2747 ½ ½ ½      
Boris Gelfand 16 ISR 2733 ½ ½ ½       1½ 

There is a rest day tomorrow, with the next game being on Monday.

The remaining schedule: 

May 22nd: Rest day

Games: Games 4 to 6 are from the 23rd to the 25th of May

26th of May: Tiebreaks followed by the Closing Ceremony.

For more information go to official site http://kazan2011.fide.com/

Otherwise another useful source is: Fédération Internationale des Échecs

To watch the games live :  http://kazan2011.fide.com/live-games.html

The games begin at 3 pm local time

1 pm Paris, Madrid

12 noon London

7 am New York

4 am Los Angeles


Published on , Updated on