CHESSANYTIME

Karjakin downs Kramnik!

Sergey Karjakin
Today's only winner was Sergey Karjakin, who outplayed Vladimir Kramnik in the Berlin Defence. This victory enables him to advance into a joint lead with Peter Svidler and Alexander Morozevich on 2/3.

A summary of the third round:

White Rating Result Black Rating
Sergey Karjakin 2788 1-0 Vladimir Kramnik 2781
Alexander Grischuk 2746 ½-½ Peter Svidler 2739
Alexander Galkin 2598 ½-½ Alexander Morozevich 2694
Artyom Timofeev 2665 ½-½ Ian Nepomniachtchi 2711

Here is the table after the third round:

Place Name Rating 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Score
1 Peter Svidler 2739 * . ½ . . 1 ½ . 2
2 Alexander Morozevich 2694 . * ½ . ½ . 1 . 2
3 Sergey Karjakin 2788 ½ ½ * . . 1 . . 2
4 Ian Nepomniachtchi 2711 . . . * ½ . ½ ½
5 Alexander Galkin 2598 . ½ . ½ * . . ½
6 Vladimir Kramnik 2781 0 . 0 . . * . 1 1
7 Alexander Grischuk 2746 ½ 0 . ½ . . * . 1
8 Artyom Timofeev 2665 . . . ½ ½ 0 . * 1

The rest day is on the 12th of August.

Rounds 4 to 7: 11th, and 13th to 15th of August, when the games starts at 1pm local time except the last round at 11am.

1pm Moscow = 11am Paris = 10am London = 5am New York = 2am Los Angeles = 9pm Sydney

No draw offers before the time control at the 40th move. I believe that this will become standard practise in future in big events, rather than banning draw offers altogether!

More information from the official site: http://www.russiachess.org/

You can follow the games live on the official site from 1 pm (Moscow), except for the last round which begins two hours earlier at 11am local time.


Published on , Updated on

React to this article

Top of page ▲
All the members having a valid membership (out of trying period) can comment the articles. Let's subscribe !

Reactions (0)

  • No reaction for the moment