CHESSANYTIME

Svidler and Morozevich ahead

Peter Svidler
A day of four decisive games saw the more experienced players beat their younger rivals on all four boards. Alexander Grischuk marked the first victory by Black so far, against no less an opponent than Sergey Karjakin. Peter Svidler and Alexander Morozevich now lead with 3/4.

Here is the Round four summary:

White Rating Result Black Rating
Vladimir Kramnik 2781  1-0 Ian Nepomniachtchi 2711
Alexander Morozevich 2694  1-0 Artyom Timofeev 2665
Peter Svidler 2739  1-0 Alexander Galkin 2598
Sergey Karjakin 2788  0-1 Alexander Grischuk 2746

The table after the fourth round:

Posn. Name Rating 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Score
1. Peter Svidler 2739 * . ½ ½ 1 1 . . 3
2. Alexander Morozevich 2694 . * ½ 1 . ½ . 1 3
3. Sergey Karjakin 2788 ½ ½ * 0 1 . . . 2
4. Alexander Grischuk 2746 ½ 0 1 * . . ½ . 2
5. Vladimir Kramnik 2781 0 . 0 . * . 1 1 2
6. Alexander Galkin 2598 0 ½ . . . * ½ ½
7. Ian Nepomniachtchi 2711 . . . ½ 0 ½ * ½
8. Artyom Timofeev 2665 . 0 . . 0 ½ ½ * 1

The rest day is tomorrow on the 12th of August.

Rounds 4 to 7: 11th, and 13th to 15th of August, when the games starts at 1pm local time except the last round at 11am.

1pm Moscow = 11am Paris = 10am London = 5am New York = 2am Los Angeles = 9pm Sydney

No draw offers before the time control at the 40th move. I believe that this will become standard practise in future in big events, rather than banning draw offers altogether!

The prize fund:

 

3 500 000 roubles (about 87 000 €)

1st 950.000 RUB (24 000 €)

2nd 700.000 RUB (17 000 €)

3rd 500.000 RUB (12 000 €)

4th 450.000 RUB (11 000 €)

5th 350.000 RUB (8 000 €)

6th 300.000 RUB (7 000 €)

7th 150.000 RUB (3 500 €)

8th 100.000 RUB (2 500 €)

 

You can understand why the big names have all played this time!

More information from the official site: http://www.russiachess.org/

You can follow the games live on the official site from 1 pm (Moscow), except for the last round which begins two hours earlier at 11am local time.

 


Published on , Updated on

React to this article

Top of page ▲
All the members having a valid membership (out of trying period) can comment the articles. Let's subscribe !

Reactions (0)

  • No reaction for the moment