CHESSANYTIME

Svidler wraps it up!

The 2011 Champion
Peter Svidler wins again and thus earns the Russian Championship crown for 2011 with a round to spare. This is the sixth time he has gained the title, a remarkable record. Three players are equal second: Alexander Morozevich, Sergey Karjakin and Alexander Grischuk.

6th round summary:

White Rating Result Black Rating
Vladimir Kramnik  2781 ½-½ Alexander Morozevich 2694
Peter Svidler  2739 1-0 Ian Nepomniachtchi 2711
Sergey Karjakin 2788 1-0 Artyom Timofeev 2665
Alexander Grischuk  2746 1-0 Alexander Galkin 2598

The table after the sixth round:

Posn. Name Rating 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 Score
1st Peter Svidler (1) 2739 * . ½ ½ 1 1 1 1 5
2nd-4th Alexander Morozevich (2) 2694 . * ½ 1 ½ 0 ½  1
2nd-4th Sergey Karjakin (3) 2788 ½ ½ * 0 1 . ½  1
2nd-4th Alexander Grischuk (4) 2746 ½ 0 1 * ½ ½  1 .
5th Vladimir Kramnik (5) 2781 0 ½ 0 ½ * 1 . 1 3
6th Ian Nepomniachtchi (6) 2711  0 1 . ½ 0 ½ ½ 2½ 
7th Alexander Galkin (7) 2598 0 ½ ½ 0 . ½ * ½ 2
8th Artyom Timofeev (8) 2665 0 0 0 . 0 ½ ½ * 1

Round 7: 15th of August, the games start at 11am.

11am Moscow = 9am Paris = 8am London = 3am New York = midnight in Los Angeles = 7pm Sydney

No draw offers before the time control at the 40th move. I believe that this will become standard practise in future in big events, rather than banning draw offers altogether!

The prize fund:

 

3 500 000 roubles (about 87 000 €)

1st 950.000 RUB (24 000 €)

2nd 700.000 RUB (17 000 €)

3rd 500.000 RUB (12 000 €)

4th 450.000 RUB (11 000 €)

5th 350.000 RUB (8 000 €)

6th 300.000 RUB (7 000 €)

7th 150.000 RUB (3 500 €)

8th 100.000 RUB (2 500 €)

 

You can understand why the big names have all played this time!

More information from the official site: http://www.russiachess.org/

You can follow the games live on the official site from 1 pm (Moscow), except for the last round which begins two hours earlier at 11am local time.


Published on , Updated on

React to this article

Top of page ▲
All the members having a valid membership (out of trying period) can comment the articles. Let's subscribe !

Reactions (0)

  • No reaction for the moment